How running made me a better family lawyer

Published November 17, 2016 by Ashlee T. Bowman

belinda-marathonAfter completing my first triathlon earlier this year I thought I would set myself an even bigger challenge, the Gold Coast Marathon, which I completed in July.

After the weeks upon weeks and hours upon hours of running (and not to mention eating), I was ready. Wearing my Jones Mitchell t-shirt I stood at the start line, feeling slightly terrified. Thousands of bodies crowded around me. My stomach was churning.

Support crew at the ready, lining the Gold Coast Highway. I needed to finish. Luckily I did.

Looking back, retracing my steps and the emotions and pain I felt running that 42km journey, I understand the nerves and self-doubt that newly separated spouses feel when they make the very first call to our office. Unsure what to expect and what the future holds. Looking for guidance.

What got me to the finish line? All of the wonderful, kind and generous people who supported me.

What makes me different from other family lawyers?

I think it would have to be my caring and calm demeanour. My clients respect this and all the hard work that I put in.

As family lawyers, it’s our job to be the support crew for anyone going through divorce and separation. It’s our role to guide you through what is one of the biggest emotional stresses of a lifetime.

Running marathons is a sport that requires discipline and that methodology can be applied successfully across all areas of your personal and professional life.

The kind of qualities that you need to get to the finish line; time management, confidence, positivity and a decisive mindset are qualities that help you overcome any challenge and become a better person in all facets of life.

 

The post How running made me a better family lawyer appeared first on Jones Mitchell Lawyers.

Leave a Reply

